Musica Viva NY Presents the Aeolus Quartet
STRUM: Dvořák, Montgomery and Price

Sunday, September 11, 2022
concert-clock 5:00 pm
concert-pin In person at All Souls Church

Musica Viva NY begins its 2022-23 season by presenting a chamber music program from its ensemble-in-residence, the award-winning Aeolus Quartet. The quartet will feature the acclaimed, New York City native composer Jessie Montgomery and her piece Strum (2006, rev. 2012) described as “turbulent, wildly colorful and exploding with life” (Washington Post). The concert will also feature String Quartet No. 2 in A minor (1929) by Florence Price, a major American composer who died in 1953 but just in the past decade is finally receiving the recognition she deserves. The quartet is a monumental, virtuosic and romantic piece infused by the sounds and rhythms of Price’s African-American heritage. The concert ends with Dvořák’s landmark Quartet in G Major (1895), poetic and expressive, written at his creative prime.

Jessie Montgomery, Strum

Florence Price, String Quartet No. 2 in A minor

Antonín Dvořák, Quartet in G major, Op. 106

All Souls Church

1157 Lexington Avenue,

New York, NY 10075